In Miami, a car accident happens daily. In fact, multiple car accidents happen on a daily basis in Miami.
Some people might think, how is it even possible for some drivers to be allowed to drive on the road. With this many accidents, everyone HAS to have an accident and some points on their record.
Or do they?
Car Accidents on Your Record
Any car accident that you report to your insurance WILL go on your record.
That is without say and it is what always happens. There is no avoiding that.
Even if it is the smallest scratch, when you report a car accident to the insurance company, it will be registered to your record.
Whether or not you caused it does not matter, a car accident that is reported will ALWAYS go on your record.
If you are found at fault, then the ticket will also appear on your record as well.
So when do these accidents get wiped off your record?
Well that depends entirely on the severity of the car accident.
Most of the time, anything on record will be wiped after a time between 3-5 years. Depending on the severity, it could take 3 years or up to 5 years.
But, if the accident is absolutely severe (such as causing bodily injury, property damage, and causing extended losses) the accident could be on record for as long as 10 years.
Will My Car Accident Cause My Premiums to go Up?
This really depends on whether you were found at fault for the accident and how severe the accident was.
It is unlawful for insurance companies to add a premium to your policy (in Florida) for a car accident that was not your fault, or where fault is not easily determined.
The only time that an insurance company is allowed to add a premium to your policy is when there is substantial evidence pointing to the fact that you were largely at fault for the car accident.
Because Florida is a no-fault state, any motorist under insurance can get their coverage immediately after the accident, regardless of who was at fault. This doesn’t mean that there was no one at fault, it just means that regardless of fault, you can still get covered. If either party is at fault, the at-fault party can still be sued for causing personal injuries if the damages exceed a certain number.
Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents
For every state, there is a time limit to file a personal injury claim.
This time limit is known as a statute of limitations.
In Florida, the statute of limitations is 4 years to file a claim for your personal injury. Although it may seem like a long time, 4 years flies and there have been times when we have had people come to us after 6 years of not filing a personal injury claim.
Once the statute of limitations passes, it is very hard to file a claim. In fact, you lose the right to file a claim once the statute of limitations passes, unless there is a compelling factor as to why you did not file a claim within 4 years.
Contacting a Personal Injury Lawyer for Car Accidents in Miami
Like I said before, car accidents in Miami are a daily occurrence.
There is literally one everyday, in fact, before writing this blog, I was stuck in traffic for an hour because of a car accident that happened right in front of my eyes.
If you or a loved one was or is a victim of a car accident that was caused by negligence by the other driver, give our personal injury lawyers in Miami a call.
At Accident Lawyers MIA, we value our client’s health more than anything. After a car accident, there is just lots of pain and suffering and stress. Instead of being the one to deal with the lawyers and the complicated process of getting your financial compensation, get in contact with one of our personal injury lawyers and let us give you the legal guidance to get your money and time back.
We start with free consultation to hear how we can provide value to you.
Once we determine that we can provide the proper legal guidance, our team will immediately start gathering data and evidence (such as medical bills and photos) to build you a strong case for financial compensation.
Remember, we don’t win until YOU win.