Accident Lawyers MIA > Blog > Personal Injury Blogs > Statute of Limitations for Motor Accidents in Miami

Statute of Limitations for Motor Accidents in Miami

Posted by: Jimmy De La Espriella
Category: Personal Injury Blogs

After a car accident, the trauma and shock is sometimes unfathomable.

You constantly replay the events in your head and you’re wondering “what if” and “maybe” situations in your head. 

You are literally stuck in between pain and shock. 

You have this nagging back pain and your neck is stuck because you can’t turn your head to the left side. 

You think you should get treated but you’re scared of the hospital bills and possibly even the diagnosis you get. What if it’s beyond just some injections and physical therapy. How long will I be in the hospital?

All these questions, but the most important thing is how long do I have to treat?

Is There a Time Limit for Getting Treated?

The short answer is yes.

Not that you have a time limit literally, but there is a time limit as to when you can get treated so that your treatment can be covered by your insurance. 

In Florida, there is a thing called the 14-day PIP rule. It is actually a very simple concept. You have 14 days to get treated for any injury in direct relation to the car accident. The treatment doesn’t necessarily have to be finished within the 14 days, but the treatment has to have started within the 14 day of getting into a car accident. It also makes sense. 

If you got in a car accident in Miami and if the injuries are severe, it makes no sense to wait more than a couple hours for treatment. Broken bones, neck pain, back pain, possibly internal bleeding and severe bruising. These are all possible injuries that can occur as a consequence of a severe car accident. Any severe injury should be taken seriously and treated immediately. Waiting could make the injury worse and make it even more lasting than it should be. 

Is There a Time Limit to File Suit?

The answer is also a yes, however, not as dire or short of a timeframe. 

Filing suit is a different story than just getting treated under the PIP coverage. 

You have 4 years to file suit for any motor vehicle accident in Florida.

So although the timeline is much more forgiving than the 14-Day PIP rule, it does not mean that you should let it drag out. 

Once you go past the statute of limitations, it is going to be nearly impossible or just outright impossible.

Filing Suit Sounds Like a Long Process and Confusing

Yes, it is true that filing a suit sounds like a crazy process.

Even on TV shows they portray filing suit as a crazy process and essentially a verbal war in the courtroom. However, that is not the case and it does not mean that YOU have to be the one in the courtroom getting verbally into it.

That is where a personal injury lawyer comes in. 

A personal injury lawyer in Miami can help you receive your financial compensation for your injuries. If your most severe injuries were caused by negligence of another driver, a personal injury lawyer can help you get your financial compensation.
Negligent and distracted driving is the number one cause of car accidents in the nation. Falling asleep on the wheel, texting and driving, calling and driving. These are all reasons that another driver could have caused the car accident in Miami.

If you or a loved one is a victim of negligent driving, a personal injury lawyer in Miami can provide you with the legal guidance to get you back to normal life.

We start you with an absolutely free consultation to hear what happened to you. From there, we will start gathering evidence like medical bills and photos to build you a strong case.
Everything is absolutely free until we win you the case.

We don’t win until YOU win.

Author: Jimmy De La Espriella
Call Now Button305-680-5161